How the national numbers differ
1Mechanical Door Repairers has the edge on projected growth
Mechanical Door Repairers is at 6.4% projected growth, compared with 0.9% projected growth for Millwrights.
2Millwrights has the edge on median pay
Millwrights is at $65,700, compared with $55,720 for Mechanical Door Repairers.
3Millwrights has the edge on annual openings
Millwrights is at 3,200 annual openings, compared with 2,100 annual openings for Mechanical Door Repairers.
54.5/ 100Mechanical Door Repairers
vs
Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.
Detailed evidence
Mechanical Door Repairers vs Millwrights
| Dimension | Mechanical Door Repairers | Millwrights |
| Median pay (2025) | $55,720 | $65,700 |
| Pay percentile | 40.8 percentile | 57.5 percentile |
| Projected growth (2025–2035) | 6.4% | 0.9% |
| Annual openings (2025–2035) | 2,100 | 3,200 |
| 2025 employment | 28,400 | 40,700 |
| How you qualify | High school diploma or equivalent; More than one month and up to 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements |
| O*NET preparation group | Job Zone 2 | Job Zone 2 |
| Related work experience | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. |
| On-the-job training | More than one month and up to 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing. | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. |
The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.