How the national numbers differ
1Bus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine Specialists has the edge on annual openings
Bus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine Specialists is at 24,400 annual openings, compared with 3,200 annual openings for Millwrights.
2Bus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine Specialists has the edge on projected growth
Bus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine Specialists is at 3.6% projected growth, compared with 0.9% projected growth for Millwrights.
3Typical preparation differs.
Bus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine Specialists: High school diploma or equivalent; More than 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing Millwrights: High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements Preparation categories do not establish admission difficulty, calendar time, tuition, time without earnings, or licensing difficulty.
4Millwrights has the edge on median pay
Millwrights is at $65,700, compared with $61,770 for Bus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine Specialists.
61.2/ 100Bus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine Specialists
vs
Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.
Detailed evidence
Bus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine Specialists vs Millwrights
| Dimension | Bus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine Specialists | Millwrights |
| Median pay (2025) | $61,770 | $65,700 |
| Pay percentile | 50.8 percentile | 57.5 percentile |
| Projected growth (2025–2035) | 3.6% | 0.9% |
| Annual openings (2025–2035) | 24,400 | 3,200 |
| 2025 employment | 316,000 | 40,700 |
| How you qualify | High school diploma or equivalent; More than 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements |
| O*NET preparation group | Job Zone 3 | Job Zone 2 |
| Related work experience | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. |
| On-the-job training | More than 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing. | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. |
The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.