How the national numbers differ
1Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines has the edge on projected growth
Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines is at 6.7% projected growth, compared with 0.9% projected growth for Millwrights.
2Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines has the edge on annual openings
Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines is at 15,000 annual openings, compared with 3,200 annual openings for Millwrights.
3Typical preparation differs.
Millwrights: High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines: High school diploma or equivalent; More than 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing Preparation categories do not establish admission difficulty, calendar time, tuition, time without earnings, or licensing difficulty.
4National pay benchmarks are very similar.
Compare actual offers, expected paid hours, schedule, and benefits before treating either career as the higher-paying option.
vs
67/ 100Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines
Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.
Detailed evidence
Millwrights vs Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines
| Dimension | Millwrights | Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanics, Except Engines |
| Median pay (2025) | $65,700 | $65,510 |
| Pay percentile | 57.5 percentile | 57.4 percentile |
| Projected growth (2025–2035) | 0.9% | 6.7% |
| Annual openings (2025–2035) | 3,200 | 15,000 |
| 2025 employment | 40,700 | 180,300 |
| How you qualify | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements | High school diploma or equivalent; More than 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing |
| O*NET preparation group | Job Zone 2 | Job Zone 3 |
| Related work experience | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. |
| On-the-job training | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. | More than 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing. |
The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.