How the national numbers differ
1First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers has the edge on median pay
First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers is at $79,920, compared with $63,800 for Plumber / Pipefitter.
2Plumber / Pipefitter has the edge on projected growth
Plumber / Pipefitter is at 6.8% projected growth, compared with 5% projected growth for First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers.
3First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers has the edge on annual openings
First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers is at 67,000 annual openings, compared with 42,000 annual openings for Plumber / Pipefitter.
74.2/ 100First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers
vs
70.4/ 100Plumber / Pipefitter
Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.
Detailed evidence
First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers vs Plumber / Pipefitter
| Dimension | First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers | Plumber / Pipefitter |
| Median pay (2025) | $79,920 | $63,800 |
| Pay percentile | 72.1 percentile | 54.7 percentile |
| Projected growth (2025–2035) | 5% | 6.8% |
| Annual openings (2025–2035) | 67,000 | 42,000 |
| 2025 employment | 913,300 | 510,600 |
| How you qualify | High school diploma or equivalent; Prior related experience: 5 years or more | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements |
| O*NET preparation group | Job Zone 3 | Job Zone 3 |
| Related work experience | Prior related experience: 5 years or more. | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. |
| On-the-job training | BLS does not list a separate on-the-job training requirement. Employers may still provide orientation and role-specific training. | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. |
The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.