How the national numbers differ
1Electrician has the edge on annual openings
Electrician is at 72,700 annual openings, compared with 42,000 annual openings for Plumber / Pipefitter.
2Electrician has the edge on projected growth
Electrician is at 9.2% projected growth, compared with 6.8% projected growth for Plumber / Pipefitter.
3National pay benchmarks are very similar.
Compare actual offers, expected paid hours, schedule, and benefits before treating either career as the higher-paying option.
vs
70.4/ 100Plumber / Pipefitter
Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.
Detailed evidence
Electrician vs Plumber / Pipefitter
| Dimension | Electrician | Plumber / Pipefitter |
| Median pay (2025) | $63,190 | $63,800 |
| Pay percentile | 54 percentile | 54.7 percentile |
| Projected growth (2025–2035) | 9.2% | 6.8% |
| Annual openings (2025–2035) | 72,700 | 42,000 |
| 2025 employment | 821,000 | 510,600 |
| How you qualify | Most enter through a four- or five-year apprenticeship with paid work and classroom instruction. Apprentice pay starts below qualified-worker pay; check local licensing requirements. | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements |
| O*NET preparation group | Job Zone 3 | Job Zone 3 |
| Related work experience | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. |
| On-the-job training | A four- or five-year apprenticeship usually combines paid work with classroom instruction. Licensing requirements vary by location. | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. |
| Schedules | Overtime, evenings, and weekends can occur; ask about the apprenticeship's combined work and class schedule. | Varies by employer and setting; ask about shifts, overtime, on-call work, and predictable hours. |
| Physical work | Standing, kneeling, cramped spaces, and sometimes heights. Electrical hazards require safe working procedures. | Unknown: review standing, lifting, repetitive movement, and posture with a practitioner. No overall physical-demand rating is assigned. |
The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.