How the national numbers differ
1Electrical Power-Line Installers and Repairers has the edge on projected growth
Electrical Power-Line Installers and Repairers is at 10.3% projected growth, compared with 0.9% projected growth for Millwrights.
2Electrical Power-Line Installers and Repairers has the edge on annual openings
Electrical Power-Line Installers and Repairers is at 10,900 annual openings, compared with 3,200 annual openings for Millwrights.
3Electrical Power-Line Installers and Repairers has the edge on median pay
Electrical Power-Line Installers and Repairers is at $95,320, compared with $65,700 for Millwrights.
78.7/ 100Electrical Power-Line Installers and Repairers
vs
Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.
Detailed evidence
Electrical Power-Line Installers and Repairers vs Millwrights
| Dimension | Electrical Power-Line Installers and Repairers | Millwrights |
| Median pay (2025) | $95,320 | $65,700 |
| Pay percentile | 79.1 percentile | 57.5 percentile |
| Projected growth (2025–2035) | 10.3% | 0.9% |
| Annual openings (2025–2035) | 10,900 | 3,200 |
| 2025 employment | 131,900 | 40,700 |
| How you qualify | High school diploma or equivalent; More than 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements |
| O*NET preparation group | Job Zone 2 | Job Zone 2 |
| Related work experience | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. |
| On-the-job training | More than 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing. | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. |
The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.