How the national numbers differ
1Plumber / Pipefitter has the edge on annual openings
Plumber / Pipefitter is at 42,000 annual openings, compared with 3,900 annual openings for Glaziers.
2Plumber / Pipefitter has the edge on projected growth
Plumber / Pipefitter is at 6.8% projected growth, compared with 1.9% projected growth for Glaziers.
3Typical preparation differs.
Glaziers: High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements Plumber / Pipefitter: High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements Preparation categories do not establish admission difficulty, calendar time, tuition, time without earnings, or licensing difficulty.
4Plumber / Pipefitter has the edge on median pay
Plumber / Pipefitter is at $63,800, compared with $57,080 for Glaziers.
vs
70.4/ 100Plumber / Pipefitter
Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.
Detailed evidence
Glaziers vs Plumber / Pipefitter
| Dimension | Glaziers | Plumber / Pipefitter |
| Median pay (2025) | $57,080 | $63,800 |
| Pay percentile | 42.5 percentile | 54.7 percentile |
| Projected growth (2025–2035) | 1.9% | 6.8% |
| Annual openings (2025–2035) | 3,900 | 42,000 |
| 2025 employment | 59,200 | 510,600 |
| How you qualify | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements |
| O*NET preparation group | Job Zone 2 | Job Zone 3 |
| Related work experience | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. |
| On-the-job training | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. |
The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.