How the national numbers differ
1First-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers has the edge on annual openings
First-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers is at 48,900 annual openings, compared with 600 annual openings for Musical Instrument Repairers and Tuners.
2First-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers has the edge on median pay
First-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers is at $79,860, compared with $46,420 for Musical Instrument Repairers and Tuners.
3First-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers has the edge on projected growth
First-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers is at 4.1% projected growth, compared with 1.9% projected growth for Musical Instrument Repairers and Tuners.
71.2/ 100First-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers
vs
27/ 100Musical Instrument Repairers and Tuners
Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.
Detailed evidence
First-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers vs Musical Instrument Repairers and Tuners
| Dimension | First-Line Supervisors of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers | Musical Instrument Repairers and Tuners |
| Median pay (2025) | $79,860 | $46,420 |
| Pay percentile | 71.6 percentile | 21.6 percentile |
| Projected growth (2025–2035) | 4.1% | 1.9% |
| Annual openings (2025–2035) | 48,900 | 600 |
| 2025 employment | 629,000 | 6,000 |
| How you qualify | High school diploma or equivalent; Prior related experience: less than 5 years | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements |
| O*NET preparation group | Job Zone 3 | Job Zone 3 |
| Related work experience | Prior related experience: less than 5 years. | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. |
| On-the-job training | BLS does not list a separate on-the-job training requirement. Employers may still provide orientation and role-specific training. | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. |
The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.