How the national numbers differ
1Home Appliance Repairers has the edge on annual openings
Home Appliance Repairers is at 2,800 annual openings, compared with 600 annual openings for Musical Instrument Repairers and Tuners.
2Typical preparation differs.
Home Appliance Repairers: High school diploma or equivalent; More than one month and up to 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing Musical Instrument Repairers and Tuners: High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements Preparation categories do not establish admission difficulty, calendar time, tuition, time without earnings, or licensing difficulty.
3Home Appliance Repairers has the edge on median pay
Home Appliance Repairers is at $50,990, compared with $46,420 for Musical Instrument Repairers and Tuners.
44.3/ 100Home Appliance Repairers
vs
27/ 100Musical Instrument Repairers and Tuners
Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.
Detailed evidence
Home Appliance Repairers vs Musical Instrument Repairers and Tuners
| Dimension | Home Appliance Repairers | Musical Instrument Repairers and Tuners |
| Median pay (2025) | $50,990 | $46,420 |
| Pay percentile | 34.9 percentile | 21.6 percentile |
| Projected growth (2025–2035) | 1.9% | 1.9% |
| Annual openings (2025–2035) | 2,800 | 600 |
| 2025 employment | 40,500 | 6,000 |
| How you qualify | High school diploma or equivalent; More than one month and up to 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements |
| O*NET preparation group | Job Zone 2 | Job Zone 3 |
| Related work experience | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. |
| On-the-job training | More than one month and up to 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing. | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. |
The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.