ChooseField
Quick answer · Balanced priorities

First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers vs Sheet Metal Workers: what changes?

Consider First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers if you want to directly supervise and coordinate activities of construction or extraction workers. Consider Sheet Metal Workers if you would rather fabricate, assemble, install, and repair sheet metal products and equipment, such as ducts, control boxes, drainpipes, and furnace casings. Both list high school diploma or equivalent; compare training and prior experience separately. Prior experience in a related occupation is typically needed for First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers (5 years or more).

Try this next: Compare three local entry-level postings for First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers and Sheet Metal Workers. List the duties, credentials, prior experience, and paid training each employer actually asks for. Try a supervised class or sample project from each field before choosing a program.

BLS 2025 wages and 2025–2035 projections. National medians are not starting offers. Occupation size is not a count of vacancies. View the BLS data.

Compare the practical differences
What this means in practice

The facts most likely to affect your decision

Start with earnings, the route into the job, training, available openings, and a day-to-day reality.

First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers

National median pay (2025)
$79,920
Route into the job
High school diploma or equivalent; Prior related experience: 5 years or more
Prior related experience
Prior related experience: 5 years or more.
Training and licensing
BLS does not list a separate on-the-job training requirement. Employers may still provide orientation and role-specific training.
Work to investigate
Inspect work progress, equipment, or construction sites to verify safety or to ensure that specifications are met.
Annual openings (2025–2035)
67,000
Know before you choose

BLS lists 5 years or more of related experience. This is normally reached through feeder roles, not directly from school.

See the full First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers brief

Sheet Metal Workers

National median pay (2025)
$61,800
Route into the job
High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements
Prior related experience
No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary.
Training and licensing
Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements.
Work to investigate
Maintain equipment, making repairs or modifications when necessary.
Annual openings (2025–2035)
9,800
Know before you choose

The usual entry route includes an apprenticeship. Interest in the subject is not a substitute for supervised, paid training.

See the full Sheet Metal Workers brief
See scores, detailed data, and how the comparison works

How the national numbers differ

1

First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers has the edge on annual openings

First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers is at 67,000 annual openings, compared with 9,800 annual openings for Sheet Metal Workers.

2

First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers has the edge on median pay

First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers is at $79,920, compared with $61,800 for Sheet Metal Workers.

3

First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers has the edge on projected growth

First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers is at 5% projected growth, compared with 2.5% projected growth for Sheet Metal Workers.

4

Typical preparation differs.

First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers: High school diploma or equivalent; Prior related experience: 5 years or more Sheet Metal Workers: High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements Preparation categories do not establish admission difficulty, calendar time, tuition, time without earnings, or licensing difficulty.

74.2/ 100

First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers

vs
58.1/ 100

Sheet Metal Workers

Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.

Detailed evidence

First-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction Workers vs Sheet Metal Workers

DimensionFirst-Line Supervisors of Construction Trades and Extraction WorkersSheet Metal Workers
Median pay (2025)$79,920$61,800
Pay percentile72.1 percentile51 percentile
Projected growth (2025–2035)5%2.5%
Annual openings (2025–2035)67,0009,800
2025 employment913,300131,100
How you qualifyHigh school diploma or equivalent; Prior related experience: 5 years or moreHigh school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements
O*NET preparation groupJob Zone 3Job Zone 2
Related work experiencePrior related experience: 5 years or more.No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary.
On-the-job trainingBLS does not list a separate on-the-job training requirement. Employers may still provide orientation and role-specific training.Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements.

The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.