How the national numbers differ
1Sheet Metal Workers has the edge on annual openings
Sheet Metal Workers is at 9,800 annual openings, compared with 2,400 annual openings for Excavating and Loading Machine and Dragline Operators, Surface Mining.
2Sheet Metal Workers has the edge on projected growth
Sheet Metal Workers is at 2.5% projected growth, compared with 1% projected growth for Excavating and Loading Machine and Dragline Operators, Surface Mining.
3Sheet Metal Workers has the edge on median pay
Sheet Metal Workers is at $61,800, compared with $57,430 for Excavating and Loading Machine and Dragline Operators, Surface Mining.
44.1/ 100Excavating and Loading Machine and Dragline Operators, Surface Mining
vs
58.1/ 100Sheet Metal Workers
Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.
Detailed evidence
Excavating and Loading Machine and Dragline Operators, Surface Mining vs Sheet Metal Workers
| Dimension | Excavating and Loading Machine and Dragline Operators, Surface Mining | Sheet Metal Workers |
| Median pay (2025) | $57,430 | $61,800 |
| Pay percentile | 42.6 percentile | 51 percentile |
| Projected growth (2025–2035) | 1% | 2.5% |
| Annual openings (2025–2035) | 2,400 | 9,800 |
| 2025 employment | 34,700 | 131,100 |
| How you qualify | High school diploma or equivalent; Prior related experience: less than 5 years; More than one month and up to 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements |
| O*NET preparation group | Job Zone 2 | Job Zone 2 |
| Related work experience | Prior related experience: less than 5 years. | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. |
| On-the-job training | More than one month and up to 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing. | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. |
The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.