How the national numbers differ
1Brickmasons and Blockmasons has the edge on annual openings
Brickmasons and Blockmasons is at 4,100 annual openings, compared with 2,400 annual openings for Excavating and Loading Machine and Dragline Operators, Surface Mining.
2Brickmasons and Blockmasons has the edge on median pay
Brickmasons and Blockmasons is at $62,120, compared with $57,430 for Excavating and Loading Machine and Dragline Operators, Surface Mining.
3Brickmasons and Blockmasons has the edge on projected growth
Brickmasons and Blockmasons is at 1.1% projected growth, compared with 1% projected growth for Excavating and Loading Machine and Dragline Operators, Surface Mining.
50.5/ 100Brickmasons and Blockmasons
vs
44.1/ 100Excavating and Loading Machine and Dragline Operators, Surface Mining
Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.
Detailed evidence
Brickmasons and Blockmasons vs Excavating and Loading Machine and Dragline Operators, Surface Mining
| Dimension | Brickmasons and Blockmasons | Excavating and Loading Machine and Dragline Operators, Surface Mining |
| Median pay (2025) | $62,120 | $57,430 |
| Pay percentile | 51.6 percentile | 42.6 percentile |
| Projected growth (2025–2035) | 1.1% | 1% |
| Annual openings (2025–2035) | 4,100 | 2,400 |
| 2025 employment | 62,400 | 34,700 |
| How you qualify | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements | High school diploma or equivalent; Prior related experience: less than 5 years; More than one month and up to 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing |
| O*NET preparation group | Job Zone 2 | Job Zone 2 |
| Related work experience | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. | Prior related experience: less than 5 years. |
| On-the-job training | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. | More than one month and up to 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing. |
The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.