How the national numbers differ
1Carpenters has the edge on annual openings
Carpenters is at 62,800 annual openings, compared with 4,100 annual openings for Brickmasons and Blockmasons.
2Carpenters has the edge on projected growth
Carpenters is at 3.9% projected growth, compared with 1.1% projected growth for Brickmasons and Blockmasons.
3Brickmasons and Blockmasons has the edge on median pay
Brickmasons and Blockmasons is at $62,120, compared with $60,580 for Carpenters.
50.5/ 100Brickmasons and Blockmasons
vs
Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.
Detailed evidence
Brickmasons and Blockmasons vs Carpenters
| Dimension | Brickmasons and Blockmasons | Carpenters |
| Median pay (2025) | $62,120 | $60,580 |
| Pay percentile | 51.6 percentile | 49 percentile |
| Projected growth (2025–2035) | 1.1% | 3.9% |
| Annual openings (2025–2035) | 4,100 | 62,800 |
| 2025 employment | 62,400 | 889,700 |
| How you qualify | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements |
| O*NET preparation group | Job Zone 2 | Job Zone 2 |
| Related work experience | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. |
| On-the-job training | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. |
The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.