How the national numbers differ
1Boilermakers has the edge on median pay
Boilermakers is at $76,410, compared with $58,970 for Reinforcing Iron and Rebar Workers.
2Boilermakers has the edge on projected growth
Boilermakers is at -1.8% projected growth, compared with -5.3% projected growth for Reinforcing Iron and Rebar Workers.
3Reinforcing Iron and Rebar Workers has the edge on annual openings
Reinforcing Iron and Rebar Workers is at 1,000 annual openings, compared with 700 annual openings for Boilermakers.
vs
34.6/ 100Reinforcing Iron and Rebar Workers
Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.
Detailed evidence
Boilermakers vs Reinforcing Iron and Rebar Workers
| Dimension | Boilermakers | Reinforcing Iron and Rebar Workers |
| Median pay (2025) | $76,410 | $58,970 |
| Pay percentile | 67 percentile | 46 percentile |
| Projected growth (2025–2035) | -1.8% | -5.3% |
| Annual openings (2025–2035) | 700 | 1,000 |
| 2025 employment | 10,200 | 16,600 |
| How you qualify | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements |
| O*NET preparation group | Job Zone 2 | Job Zone 2 |
| Related work experience | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. |
| On-the-job training | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. |
The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.