ChooseField
Quick answer · Balanced priorities

Boilermakers vs Sheet Metal Workers: what changes?

Consider Boilermakers if you want to construct, assemble, maintain, and repair stationary steam boilers and boiler house auxiliaries. Consider Sheet Metal Workers if you would rather fabricate, assemble, install, and repair sheet metal products and equipment, such as ducts, control boxes, drainpipes, and furnace casings. Both list high school diploma or equivalent; compare training and prior experience separately.

Try this next: Compare three local entry-level postings for Boilermakers and Sheet Metal Workers. List the duties, credentials, prior experience, and paid training each employer actually asks for. Try a supervised class or sample project from each field before choosing a program.

BLS 2025 wages and 2025–2035 projections. National medians are not starting offers. Occupation size is not a count of vacancies. View the BLS data.

Compare the practical differences
What this means in practice

The facts most likely to affect your decision

Start with earnings, the route into the job, training, available openings, and a day-to-day reality.

Boilermakers

National median pay (2025)
$76,410
Route into the job
High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements
Prior related experience
No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary.
Training and licensing
Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements.
Work to investigate
Conduct pressure tests on vessels, such as boilers.
Annual openings (2025–2035)
700
Know before you choose

The usual entry route includes an apprenticeship. Interest in the subject is not a substitute for supervised, paid training.

See the full Boilermakers brief

Sheet Metal Workers

National median pay (2025)
$61,800
Route into the job
High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements
Prior related experience
No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary.
Training and licensing
Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements.
Work to investigate
Maintain equipment, making repairs or modifications when necessary.
Annual openings (2025–2035)
9,800
Know before you choose

The usual entry route includes an apprenticeship. Interest in the subject is not a substitute for supervised, paid training.

See the full Sheet Metal Workers brief
See scores, detailed data, and how the comparison works

How the national numbers differ

1

Sheet Metal Workers has the edge on annual openings

Sheet Metal Workers is at 9,800 annual openings, compared with 700 annual openings for Boilermakers.

2

Sheet Metal Workers has the edge on projected growth

Sheet Metal Workers is at 2.5% projected growth, compared with -1.8% projected growth for Boilermakers.

3

Boilermakers has the edge on median pay

Boilermakers is at $76,410, compared with $61,800 for Sheet Metal Workers.

41.4/ 100

Boilermakers

vs
58.1/ 100

Sheet Metal Workers

Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.

Detailed evidence

Boilermakers vs Sheet Metal Workers

DimensionBoilermakersSheet Metal Workers
Median pay (2025)$76,410$61,800
Pay percentile67 percentile51 percentile
Projected growth (2025–2035)-1.8%2.5%
Annual openings (2025–2035)7009,800
2025 employment10,200131,100
How you qualifyHigh school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirementsHigh school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements
O*NET preparation groupJob Zone 2Job Zone 2
Related work experienceNo prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary.No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary.
On-the-job trainingApprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements.Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements.

The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.