How the national numbers differ
1Glaziers has the edge on projected growth
Glaziers is at 1.9% projected growth, compared with -0.9% projected growth for Paving, Surfacing, and Tamping Equipment Operators.
2Glaziers has the edge on annual openings
Glaziers is at 3,900 annual openings, compared with 3,100 annual openings for Paving, Surfacing, and Tamping Equipment Operators.
3Glaziers has the edge on median pay
Glaziers is at $57,080, compared with $53,340 for Paving, Surfacing, and Tamping Equipment Operators.
vs
42/ 100Paving, Surfacing, and Tamping Equipment Operators
Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.
Detailed evidence
Glaziers vs Paving, Surfacing, and Tamping Equipment Operators
| Dimension | Glaziers | Paving, Surfacing, and Tamping Equipment Operators |
| Median pay (2025) | $57,080 | $53,340 |
| Pay percentile | 42.5 percentile | 38.6 percentile |
| Projected growth (2025–2035) | 1.9% | -0.9% |
| Annual openings (2025–2035) | 3,900 | 3,100 |
| 2025 employment | 59,200 | 42,300 |
| How you qualify | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements | High school diploma or equivalent; More than one month and up to 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing |
| O*NET preparation group | Job Zone 2 | Job Zone 2 |
| Related work experience | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. |
| On-the-job training | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. | More than one month and up to 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing. |
The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.