How the national numbers differ
1Electrician has the edge on annual openings
Electrician is at 72,700 annual openings, compared with 1,800 annual openings for Insulation Workers, Mechanical.
2Typical preparation differs.
Electrician: Most enter through a four- or five-year apprenticeship with paid work and classroom instruction. Apprentice pay starts below qualified-worker pay; check local licensing requirements. Insulation Workers, Mechanical: High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements Preparation categories do not establish admission difficulty, calendar time, tuition, time without earnings, or licensing difficulty.
3Electrician has the edge on projected growth
Electrician is at 9.2% projected growth, compared with 5.1% projected growth for Insulation Workers, Mechanical.
4Electrician has the edge on median pay
Electrician is at $63,190, compared with $58,340 for Insulation Workers, Mechanical.
vs
52.4/ 100Insulation Workers, Mechanical
Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.
Detailed evidence
Electrician vs Insulation Workers, Mechanical
| Dimension | Electrician | Insulation Workers, Mechanical |
| Median pay (2025) | $63,190 | $58,340 |
| Pay percentile | 54 percentile | 44.3 percentile |
| Projected growth (2025–2035) | 9.2% | 5.1% |
| Annual openings (2025–2035) | 72,700 | 1,800 |
| 2025 employment | 821,000 | 26,700 |
| How you qualify | Most enter through a four- or five-year apprenticeship with paid work and classroom instruction. Apprentice pay starts below qualified-worker pay; check local licensing requirements. | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements |
| O*NET preparation group | Job Zone 3 | Job Zone 2 |
| Related work experience | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. |
| On-the-job training | A four- or five-year apprenticeship usually combines paid work with classroom instruction. Licensing requirements vary by location. | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. |
| Schedules | Overtime, evenings, and weekends can occur; ask about the apprenticeship's combined work and class schedule. | Varies by employer and setting; ask about shifts, overtime, on-call work, and predictable hours. |
| Physical work | Standing, kneeling, cramped spaces, and sometimes heights. Electrical hazards require safe working procedures. | Unknown: review standing, lifting, repetitive movement, and posture with a practitioner. No overall physical-demand rating is assigned. |
The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.