How the national numbers differ
1Construction and Building Inspectors has the edge on annual openings
Construction and Building Inspectors is at 14,800 annual openings, compared with 4,100 annual openings for Brickmasons and Blockmasons.
2Typical preparation differs.
Brickmasons and Blockmasons: High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements Construction and Building Inspectors: High school diploma or equivalent; Prior related experience: 5 years or more; More than one month and up to 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing Preparation categories do not establish admission difficulty, calendar time, tuition, time without earnings, or licensing difficulty.
3Construction and Building Inspectors has the edge on median pay
Construction and Building Inspectors is at $74,690, compared with $62,120 for Brickmasons and Blockmasons.
4Brickmasons and Blockmasons has the edge on projected growth
Brickmasons and Blockmasons is at 1.1% projected growth, compared with 0% projected growth for Construction and Building Inspectors.
50.5/ 100Brickmasons and Blockmasons
vs
55.4/ 100Construction and Building Inspectors
Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.
Detailed evidence
Brickmasons and Blockmasons vs Construction and Building Inspectors
| Dimension | Brickmasons and Blockmasons | Construction and Building Inspectors |
| Median pay (2025) | $62,120 | $74,690 |
| Pay percentile | 51.6 percentile | 64.7 percentile |
| Projected growth (2025–2035) | 1.1% | 0% |
| Annual openings (2025–2035) | 4,100 | 14,800 |
| 2025 employment | 62,400 | 153,900 |
| How you qualify | High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements | High school diploma or equivalent; Prior related experience: 5 years or more; More than one month and up to 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing |
| O*NET preparation group | Job Zone 2 | Job Zone 3 |
| Related work experience | No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary. | Prior related experience: 5 years or more. |
| On-the-job training | Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements. | More than one month and up to 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing. |
The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.