ChooseField
Quick answer · Balanced priorities

Carpenters vs Explosives Workers, Ordnance Handling Experts, and Blasters: what changes?

Consider Carpenters if you want to construct, erect, install, or repair structures and fixtures made of wood and comparable materials, such as concrete forms; building frameworks, including partitions, joists, studding, and rafters; and wood…. Consider Explosives Workers, Ordnance Handling Experts, and Blasters if you would rather place and detonate explosives to demolish structures or to loosen, remove, or displace earth, rock, or other materials. Both list high school diploma or equivalent; compare training and prior experience separately. Prior experience in a related occupation is typically needed for Explosives Workers, Ordnance Handling Experts, and Blasters (less than 5 years).

Try this next: Compare three local entry-level postings for Carpenters and Explosives Workers, Ordnance Handling Experts, and Blasters. List the duties, credentials, prior experience, and paid training each employer actually asks for. Try a supervised class or sample project from each field before choosing a program.

BLS 2025 wages and 2025–2035 projections. National medians are not starting offers. Occupation size is not a count of vacancies. View the BLS data.

Compare the practical differences
What this means in practice

The facts most likely to affect your decision

Start with earnings, the route into the job, training, available openings, and a day-to-day reality.

Carpenters

National median pay (2025)
$60,580
Route into the job
High school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements
Prior related experience
No prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary.
Training and licensing
Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements.
Work to investigate
Follow established safety rules and regulations and maintain a safe and clean environment.
Annual openings (2025–2035)
62,800
Know before you choose

The usual entry route includes an apprenticeship. Interest in the subject is not a substitute for supervised, paid training.

See the full Carpenters brief

Explosives Workers, Ordnance Handling Experts, and Blasters

National median pay (2025)
$61,390
Route into the job
High school diploma or equivalent; Prior related experience: less than 5 years; More than 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing
Prior related experience
Prior related experience: less than 5 years.
Training and licensing
More than 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing.
Work to investigate
Examine blast areas to determine amounts and kinds of explosive charges needed and to ensure that safety laws are observed.
Annual openings (2025–2035)
400
Know before you choose

BLS lists less than 5 years of related experience. This is normally reached through feeder roles, not directly from school.

See the full Explosives Workers, Ordnance Handling Experts, and Blasters brief
See scores, detailed data, and how the comparison works

How the national numbers differ

1

Carpenters has the edge on annual openings

Carpenters is at 62,800 annual openings, compared with 400 annual openings for Explosives Workers, Ordnance Handling Experts, and Blasters.

2

Carpenters has the edge on projected growth

Carpenters is at 3.9% projected growth, compared with 0% projected growth for Explosives Workers, Ordnance Handling Experts, and Blasters.

3

National pay benchmarks are very similar.

Compare actual offers, expected paid hours, schedule, and benefits before treating either career as the higher-paying option.

69.4/ 100

Carpenters

vs
36.2/ 100

Explosives Workers, Ordnance Handling Experts, and Blasters

Each available metric is ranked from 0 to 100 against the careers on ChooseField. The weighted average uses this profile: pay 30%, growth 25%, openings 30%, preparation level 15%. Missing values are not scored as zero; their weights are redistributed across available metrics. Occupation size has zero weight: employment is not accessible vacancies. Preparation categories do not measure admission difficulty or years without earnings. The score summarizes national measures; local opportunities and personal fit still need separate consideration.

Detailed evidence

Carpenters vs Explosives Workers, Ordnance Handling Experts, and Blasters

DimensionCarpentersExplosives Workers, Ordnance Handling Experts, and Blasters
Median pay (2025)$60,580$61,390
Pay percentile49 percentile50.1 percentile
Projected growth (2025–2035)3.9%0%
Annual openings (2025–2035)62,800400
2025 employment889,7005,200
How you qualifyHigh school diploma or equivalent; Apprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirementsHigh school diploma or equivalent; Prior related experience: less than 5 years; More than 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing
O*NET preparation groupJob Zone 2Job Zone 2
Related work experienceNo prior related occupation is typically required; employer requirements vary.Prior related experience: less than 5 years.
On-the-job trainingApprenticeship combines paid work and instruction; duration is not reported here. Check the full program and licensing requirements.More than 12 months of on-the-job training, in addition to any qualifying education or licensing.

The table reports national benchmarks and reviewed work descriptions. It does not rate personal suitability, job security, or physical safety.